Skip to content

An Attitude of Gratitude – January 9, 2015

January 9, 2015

It’s been a long, long time since I’ve written.  There are many reasons for that but no excuses.  Well. maybe no excuses.  I had an accident in July and cut the tendon in my finger.  That resulted in surgery and 8 weeks of disability.  I went back to work for almost 3 weeks to a chaotic desk.  The temp they hired to cover my desk while I was out did not do things they way I do.  My desk was in total disarray.  Then, in October, I had surgery on my right foot.  More surgery, 8 more weeks of disability.  And now a totally messed up and chaotic desk.  *sigh*

Before I left on disability my company had transitioned to a new accounting system.  My database was pristine.  I was happy as a clam learning the new system and the new system’s capabilities.  When I returned to work after my LOA my database was a mess.  I was unhappy and let my boss know it.  I’m pretty sure that’s why she kept the same temp for when I had to go out for my second surgery, to keep me humble.  In my absence I racked up two traffic tickets and lots of bills.  I also missed months of church and Bible Study.  No bike riding, no painting, no cooking from scratch. I was not in a good place, certainly not fit to live with.  But in all of that, I have plenty to be thankful for.

My gratitude list for today:

  1. My health.  I am  recovering well from both my surgeries.  I may have added a little weight (okay, okay, at least 20 pounds) but that will come off once I resume riding my bike and generally being more active than I have been for the last few months.  My physical therapist says I experienced better healing in my finger than most adults my age do.  I can still work and paint.  I’m really happy with that.  And my walking, well, eventually I won’t walk like a distant cousin of Frankenstein, eventually.  Things could have been much worse, I am very cognizant of that.
  2. My Medical Financial Assistance Plan.  When I found out the copay for my finger surgery was going to be $1,250 I was shocked and dismayed.  I didn’t have that kind of money but needed the surgery.  My doctor had me apply for the MFA through my health plan and I was approved.  It has been a big help with both my surgeries and all the related expenses.
  3. My neighbors.  Glen and Jasmin were there for me to drive me to and from my surgeries, to drive me to the grocery store and even to church a few times.  They are a cute young couple and I am so grateful for all the help they were able to provide me when I needed it.
  4. Disability Insurance.  Four months off work bites hard into your paycheck.  I am glad I had not only disability insurance through the EDD but also the supplemental insurance I pay for through work.  It was slow in coming but it came and helped me keep a roof over my head and food on my table.  And even though it was late in coming it came in time to pay my rent without incurring any late fees.  My financial woes could be a LOT worse.
  5. I still have a job.  Four months off work is a long time.  My boss did work with me, I was able to bring a laptop home and dial-in from home for the last 4 weeks of my disability.  Still, I was out of the office for a great deal of time and not all my work got done.  I am grateful to be back and getting my desk caught up.

Dear Lord, thank You for these and all the other blessings You have bestowed upon me over the last few months.  I know I am not deserving of these blessings but by Your grace I have been gifted with them.  I truly appreciate them.  In Your Son’s precious name, my Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ.  AMEN

No comments yet

What are you grateful for today?

