Skip to content

An Attitude of Gratitude – May 21, 2014

May 21, 2014

I’ve been a terrible blogger lately.  There are many reasons for this and I could list them here but they’d only sound like a bunch of whining and I don’t want to be a whiner.  Disregard the fact that I have been a whiner in the past, I no longer want to whine about things I cannot control, just stand up and change them.

I rode in this year’s Gold Country Tour de Cure a  few weeks ago.  I raised over $800.00 for Diabetes education and research, most of which will actually stay in my community.  This year I rode to honor my dad.  I had a huge sticker on my back that said I was riding for him.  It was a bittersweet  day.

Today’s gratitude list:

  1. God’s love and mercy as I walk through my life.  I’ve seen things happen that I didn’t believe possible and things that I was concerned about never happened.  I am  totally unworthy but He loves me anyway.
  2. My friends and family who supported me for my ride.  I would not have been able to raise that kind of money without their love and support, whether it was love for me or love for Jeffrey, we made an impact.
  3. The love and support of friends and family and new friends in the area of my painting.  I have had a friend request I do a custom picture and a few friends and family members help me with setting prices so that I may start selling the ones I have on hand.  I am investigating a FaceBook page or a website to start marketing.  It’s scary but it is a step out in faith.
  4. My job.  It’s frustrating at times, a great deal of headaches and challenges at others, but I am so happy to have it.  We are in the midst of a huge software upgrade and all the challenges that come with that.  When the dust clears I believe it will be a good thing. 
  5. My new determination to put myself on a budget and stick to it.  I feel it is God honoring to get the mess my finances are straightened out and then used for His glory.  It’s been a challenging couple of weeks and I foresee more, but in the long run it will be worth it.

Dear Lord,  Please help me to remember that every step I take is a living sacrifice to You.  Let people see You reflected in all my actions, all my words and all my choices.  I only want to bring glory to You, my God and my King.  Guide me down the path You have chosen for me.  Keep me from straying off that path.  I ask all this in the name of my Lord and Savior, Your Beloved Son, Jesus Christ.  AMEN

No comments yet

What are you grateful for today?

