Skip to content

An Attitude of Gratitude – April 4, 2014

April 4, 2014

Some days I feel my attempts at gratitude are pretty mundane and pathetic.  Some days I don’t feel like writing anything at all.  Most times on those days I don’t write.  But today I am forcing myself to write. 

This year I am once again riding in the American Diabetes Association’s Gold Country Tour de Cure.  This year I am riding not only as a committee member but also in memory of my dad.  Diabetes complicated his illness and, I am sure, played a role in his death earlier this year.  If you would like to contribute to the ADA to help educate and support those fighting this disease please click here

My gratitude list for today.

  1. My health.  I’m not in the best of health, I have an area or two of concern, but generally speaking I am healthy enough to support myself and not spend most of my time and money on pain and/or medications.
  2. My art.  I am working on a large piece, a collage, also in honor of Jeffrey.  Working on this piece is helping me process his death and bringing me a small measure of peace.
  3. My dog.  As neglectful as I have been to her, especially with all the craziness going on in my life lately, she is pure, unconditional love at it’s finest.  I need that right now.
  4. My faith.  Leaning on my faith and my belief in and love for God has helped me through these past few weeks.  I know God has a plan for my life.  A plan for my mother’s life, too.  Trusting God in this has helped me immensely.
  5. The rain.  Folsom Lake was getting pretty low.  The drought is far from over but I think we’re getting a good handle on things once again.

Father God, I know you are watching out for Your children.  You love us and encourage us when we need it.  Please forgive me when I go astray, when my puny attempts at living life miss the mark and I let You down.  Thank You for not only the blessings I have listed above but every blessing You have poured into my life.  I appreciate them all.  Thank You, Lord, for Your goodness and mercy.  I love You, I worship You and I adore You.  I pray these things in Jesus’ holy name.  AMEN

No comments yet

What are you grateful for today?

