Skip to content

An Attitude of Gratitude – March 27, 2014

March 27, 2014

It’s been a rough few months.  Three weddings and two funerals.  Doctor visits, lab tests and cortisone shots.  Physical therapy.  Train rides and car trips.  I’ve been exhausted and unrested.  I’ve been sad.  The emotional pain is so deep I can feel it physically.  I am disappointed and discouraged because my prayers weren’t answered the way I wanted them answered.  But deep down, underneath it all there is a little kernel of joy.  I know my Redeemer LIVES!!!  I know I will see my loved ones again, in the not too distant future. 

I have much to be grateful for:

  1. Jeffrey is out of pain.  He was in my life for more than 30 years, more importantly, he was in my mother’s life for more than 30 years.  His love will linger with us for the rest of our days.
  2. Each day my mom is getting more and more stronger and less and less sad.  She will always miss Jeffrey but is learning to live until such time as they are reunited.
  3. I will be riding in this year’s ADA Tour de Cure again this year, I’m planning on the 30 mile route.  In 2 days I have managed to collect $136.00 in sponsorships.  I hope to continue that trend.  I am dedicating this year’s ride to Jeffrey’s memory.
  4. I have several art projects underway, a watercolor, a collage and an abstract marker creation, among others.  The ideas are buzzing around in my head.  It was too quiet up there for a while.
  5. I trust in God.  If I didn’t trust Him I would be in much more pain than I am right now.  I would be missing Jeffrey and not anticipating reuniting after our time here on earth has ended.

Dear Lord,  I may never understand why You had to take Jeffrey from us so early but I do trust that You had a purpose and a plan.  Thank you so much for the peace that has been permeating my life when I think of him lately.  Thank you for my mother, the new closeness we are enjoying as I walk with her through these difficult days.  Guide me as I try to help her through the next milestones in her life.  Lord, I surrender my life to You as You lead me and guide me.  I ask all this in the name of Your precious Son, my Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ.  I have new appreciation for the pain of surrendering His life for my redemption.  Words can never adequately express my gratitude for this, Lord.  AMEN

 

No comments yet

What are you grateful for today?

