Skip to content

An Attitude of Gratitude – March 3, 2014

March 3, 2014

Time marches on, whether we want it to or not.  It’s been a tough few months.  I haven’t painted as much as I wanted because I spent a lot of my free time sewing my oldest daughter’s wedding dress.  I also spent a lot of time visiting my step dad in the hospital as he was in and out several times over the last few months.  I haven’t ridden my bike much because it needed repairs, but I managed to get it repaired and am now waiting for the time and good weather.  And still time marched on.  I didn’t blog because there was just too much to write about, and I became overwhelmed with it all.  So now I need to get back into the swing of things.

  1. I am grateful for my friends.  In hard times and in joyous times my friends are loving and supportive.  They are there to celebrate with me and there to mourn with me.  I am blessed to have the friends I do.
  2. I am grateful for my family.  As quirky and argumentative as my family may be I still love them all.  They are all part of the life experiences that made me the woman I am today and I like the woman I am today.  I am blessed to have the family I have.
  3. I am grateful for my small group Bible study.  We’ve been studying Andy Stanley’s series on “Christian, it’s not what you think.”  It’s been eye-opening and thought-provoking.  It has changed some of my beliefs, I believe in a positive way.  I am blessed that Jesus loves me so deeply.
  4. I am grateful for an understanding boss.  I had reason to take 2 weeks off work recently without any advance notice.  My boss was understanding and supportive.  I am blessed with my job.
  5. I am grateful that I got to have my step dad, Jeffrey Teupel, in my life for the last 30+ years.  He taught me vast amounts about love and patience.  I am so blessed to have the privilege of calling him my dad.

Dear Lord, I stand before you today hurting and in pain over the loss of one of the finest men I have ever known.  You didn’t answer my fervent prayers in the manner I asked for but I know, I trust You, that You answered them in the manner best for Jeffrey, my mother and me.  I know You had our entire family in mind when You took Jeffrey home to be with You.  Please be with my sisters and brothers, my children, my nieces and nephews and most of all, my mother, as we face continuing down our life paths without Jeffrey.  Please comfort my mother, bring her peace and rest.  I humbly ask all this in the name of Your precious Son, the one who lived and died for the reconciliation of our sins, my Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ.  AMEN

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 28, 2014 9:39 pm

    I’m so sorry for your loss and your mom’s loss. But I’m also thankful that your faith is strong enough to get you through this time. That’s what got me through when I lost my first husband in an auto accident.

What are you grateful for today?

