Skip to content

An Attitude of Gratitude – June 26, 2013

June 26, 2013

First off I want to say “Welcome” and “Thank You” to my new followers. I am completely humbled. I wrote an email to a friend of mine yesterday morning where I told her I believed my blogs were childish but apparently somebody wants to read them because WP tells me that yesterday was my best day for followers, whatever that means.

This morning dawned bright and sunny but still cool.  Thankfully the weather should only get up into the high 80’s today.  The dogs cooperated on their walk and ate their breakfasts with no complaint this morning.  Maybe Leelee knows her family is coming to bring her home this evening.  I think she will be relieved, she doesn’t know what to do when Lucy wants to play.  I don’t know if it’s because Lucy is twice her size or if Leelee is just surly.  I will be happy to have all the snarling and snapping finally come to an end.

I drove to work this morning and I came to an intersection where I had to wait a while at a traffic signal.  As I sat there a man emerged from within some bushes at the edge of the road.  He had apparently spent the night there, or somewhere close by.  He was dressed in jeans and tennis shoes, a t-shirt and a nice corduroy jacket.  His hair was recently groomed but he had a rumpled and dirty look about him, as if he had been wearing the same outfit for several days straight.  He also had a colorful Dora the Explorer beach towel wrapped about his shoulders.  As I watched him he bounced up on the balls of his feet, lifted his chin and surveyed the intersection.  Then, walking confidently, almost regally, he strode over to the AM/PM mini mart on the corner.   I wondered about his story.  Why he was sleeping al fresco and if he wanted/needed help.  What choices he had made to end up where he was.  Then the light changed and I continued on my way to work. 

My gratitude list for today:

  1. My realization that I am fighting a Spiritual Battle.  Yesterday I spoke of how I have a well of joy deep down inside of me.  Yesterday afternoon something happened that hurt me, deeply.  I actually was crying as I drove home from work yesterday evening.  This morning I woke with joy in my heart.  As I walked into my office I felt the pain and hurt of yesterday afternoon rush back.  I realized that I am under attack.  My love, my confidence, my determination to respond in a loving Christ-like manner are all under fire.  The more I lean into Christ the easier it is for me to access that well of joy.  The battle is already won.  I am glad that God has given me the strength I need to fight this battle.
  2. The sunshine.  I am going to get out and walk today, in the warm but not overly warm weather.  I enjoyed the rain yesterday, especially as it wasn’t a freezing cold rain, but I will enjoy being out-of-doors this afternoon.
  3. My job.  Watching that man this morning made me appreciate the fact that I have a home and a car.  I often complain about my finances but the truth of the matter is that I make more money than the majority of the world’s population.  I must keep the right perspective, a perspective of gratitude for the things I have.  I must stop wishing my life away longing for things I don’t have and don’t need.
  4. Friends.  A few months ago I wrote of a woman who hurt me.  We have been friends for a while but we didn’t see eye to eye about a situation that she was involved in.  I removed her as a friend on my FaceBook page but I still care for and pray for her.  She may be angry with me but I still consider her my friend.  I just will not allow her to continue to speak to me in the manner she did.  Today I am wearing the bracelet she gave me as a gift for my birthday.  The scripture engraved upon it is especially relevant for me right now.  Psalm 46:10 “Be still and know that I am God.”  I believe God is working in this situation.
  5. My new bike jersey is on its way!  As a thank you gift for the money I raised for the American Diabetes Association last month I got to choose from a number of gifts.  I chose a bicycle jersey.  I only have one other jersey, also from the ADA, and I’ve been wearing it a lot.  This one is blue and sleeveless.  Bicycle jerseys are more expensive than my budget can afford right now so I am happy and thankful that I have this opportunity to get another one.

Dear Lord,  I just want to thank You for this beautiful day, all of it, the good and the bad.  Lord, I know You are working on my heart, I am having some difficulty shedding a kernel of unforgiveness that I have, I am allowing some fears to crowd in there as well.  Lord, I know that with Your strength and Your help I can and will overcome.  I ask for this help in Jesus’ name so that You can be praised and glorified through me.  AMEN

No comments yet

What are you grateful for today?

